STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Minutes of the meeting held on 16 September 2024

PRESENT: Independent Members

Mr T Rhys Davies Mr John R Jones Mrs Gill Murgatroyd Mr Trefor Owen Mr Iorwerth Roberts

Representing the County Council

Councillor Margaret M Roberts

Representing Town and Community Councils

Councillor Iorwerth Roberts

IN ATTENDANCE: Solicitor (Corporate Governance) (MY)

Committee Officer (MEH)

APOLOGIES: None

1 CHAIR FOR THE MEETING

The Vice-Chair of the Standards Committee, Mr Trefor Owen was elected Chair for the meeting.

2 DECLARATION OF INTEREST

None received.

3 ELECTION OF CHAIR

Submitted - a report by the Director of Function (Council Business)/Monitoring Officer on the procedure to elect a Chair of the Standards Committee in accordance with the Standards Committee (Wales) Regulations 2001 and Paragraph 2.9.2.6.2 of the Council's Constitution due to the resignation of Mr Rhys Davies as Chair of the Standards Committee. Mr Davies will continue as an Independent Member of the Standards Committee.

The Standards Committee shall elect a Chairperson from amongst its five independent members for a term up to February 2028, or until the independent member's term of office on the Standards Committee expires.

Biographies of the five independent members were included in Enclosures 1-5 of the report.

RESOLVED to elect Mr Trefor Owen as Chair of the Standards Committee until February 2028.

Mr Owen wished to thank Mr Rhys Davies for his work as Chair of the Standards Committee. He stated that he was looking forward to working with members of the Standards Committee and officers during his term of office.

Mr Rhys Davies thanked the members of the Standards Committee for their support to him whilst he was Chair of the Committee. He congratulated Mr Trefor Owen on his election as Chair and wished him well in his term of office.

MR TREFOR OWEN
CHAIR